The Twelfth Night or What You Will At OSF.

20160529_131226-1By Amy Molthan

Written by William Shakespeare in 1601, this adaptation takes place in the glamour of 1930’s Hollywood. What do you get when you put 400 year old themes and characters into an era over 300 years later? You get a flirtatious, witty, glamourous version and learn that the human condition never changes.

Follow famous movie stars, producers, comedians, the help, and others on a hilarious good time through the human condition of love, loss, and always plots to win love, revenge, and happiness.

I had not previously seen The Twelfth Night and because of this cannot compare it to a performance of the original, but I can draw conclusions of how they would be different. The Count is a powerful movie producer. The Duchess a movie star. The servants are still servants.  The Jester, a comedian and performer. Of course, it all feels a bit odd as they will refer to them still as the count and the duchess and such.  The set and clothing are all very glamourous and fun.

I would like to say that I wish I had seen the play performed traditionally before so that I had a better understanding or grasp of the story, although I got it all, it is like listening to 400 year old prose, then translating into modern English, then trying to apply it to the 1930’s characters in context.  I felt I was a pretty good interpreter but it was difficult for me in a few scenes!

Despite my personal challenges, I realize many others will have no problem at all, and either way I do recommend seeing the play as it was very fun and entertaining!

SLIGHT SPOILER PARAGRAPH: They handling of the reveal of the twins was very fun and clever, but I will not mention what it is. The finale was grand and glittering and fitting for the end of a spectacular show in the 1930’s. It was delightful and fun!

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

